Five zonal and one special woreda administrations in the Southern Nations, Nationalities, and People’s Region (SNNPR) have agreed to form a joint national regional government.


The Kafa, Sheka, Dawro, Bench Sheko, West Omo Zones and Konta Special Woreda administrations decided to form a joint regional government separately from the Southern Nations, Nationalities and People’s Region. The administrations agreed to form a common national regional government based on the decision of their zonal councils to convene an emergency meeting.
“The decision is a response to the development and equitable distribution of wealth that the people of the zone have been asking for in the past,” Lekilelesh Keto, spokesman for the Kafa Zone Council, one of the zones that passed the decision, told Deutsche Welle by telephone. The speaker is not attached; “The formation of a national regional government will not only address the question of identity, but will also be able to respond to the people’s demands for good governance,” he said. In particular, it will prevent the people from traveling more than a thousand kilometers to the southern region to lodge complaints, ”he said.
There are both positive and negative comments on the decision of the zonal and woreda administrations to form a joint regional government. In an interview with DW, Dr. Mulugeta Bakalo, a law and policy professor at Hawassa University, said he was optimistic about the decision. Dr. Mulugeta, who said the areas are commonly known as “Dar Ager” and have infrastructure problems, said it would be important to establish a close government to address the problem.
However, Dr. Mulugeta said the decision should ensure that there is a consensus in the decision-making process so as not to create further questions. In the past two years, 13 zonal administrations in the Southern Nations, Nationalities and People’s Region (SNNPR) have submitted their requests to the state and the House of Federation, according to a statement from Hawassa.